CONSERVATION DISTRICT                       
​131-A North Virginia Street
Port Lavaca, Texas  77979
​Phone:  (361) 482-0357

Next Meeting of the Board of Directors:

March 21, 2018
5:30 pm
​131 A. North Virginia Street

Port Lavaca TX  77979 
Conference Room

Public Hearing - Proposed Rules of the District
This Hearing will be conducted to receive public input concerning the proposed Rules of the District. 
Link to Proposed Rules of the Distrcit:   CCGCD - Proposed Rules of the District - 20180221
Link to Public Hearing Notice:   Public Hearing Notice - Proposed Rules - 20180301

​Public Hearing - Texas Parks and Wildlife Applications 
​This Hearning will be conducted to recieve public input concerning the Application submitted for Texas Parks and Wildlife.
Link to Notice of Hearing and Public Meeting:   Texas Parks & Wildlife - Notice of Hearing and Public Meeting - Posted

​About the District . . .​​

The Calhoun County Groundwater Conservation District (DISTRICT) was created by Senate Bill 1290, 82nd Legislature and continued by Senate Bill 1835.  83rd Legislature, and codified as Chapter 18860, Special District and Local Laws Code.  The citizens of Calhoun County through a confirmation election held on November 4, 2014 ratified the DISTRICT.  The boundaries of the DISTRICT are conterminous with those of Calhoun County, Texas.  The DISTRICT was formed to protect, conserve, and prevent waste of the groundwater resources under its jurisdiction, the DISTRICT is charged with the rights and responsibilites specified in its enabling legislation:  the provisions of Chapter 36 of the Texas Water Code; this Management plan, and the District Rules.

​The boundaries of the DISTRICT are the same as Calhoun County.  This area encompasses approximately 1, 032 square miles.  The District is bounded by Refugio County, Victoria County, Jackson County, and Matagorda County.

​The DISTRICT is governed by a five member board of directors - one member elected from each of the four county precints and one member elected at-large.

Precinct 1:  Frank Anzaldua, President                                                                
Precinct 2:  Richard Meyer                                             
Precinct 3:  Galen Johnson, Secretary
Precinct 4:  Michael Hahn, Treasurer
​ At-Large  :  Danny May

​General Manager:  Tammy Amaimo

District Misson

The mission of the Calhoun County Groundwater Conservation District is to develop sound water conservation and management strategies designed to conserve, preserve, protect, and prevent waste of groundwater resources for long-term sustainability within Calhoun County for the benefit of Calhoun County's landowners, citizens, economy, and environment.

​The DISTRICT will implement these strategies through the acquisition and dissemination of hydrogeological information, the development of programs and incentives to conserve and protect groundwater resources, and the adoption and enforcementof fair and appropriate rules governing the production and protection of the groundwater resources within Calhoun County.​​